Geeks logo

Wired Differently chap 10: Todoroki's Screens (My Hero Academia Tododeku slowburn)

This is part of the Wired Differently series. It is a tododeku slowburn that deals with Midoriya's anxiety and Todoroki's trauma. The chapters must be read in order, the links are in story body. In this chapter, Todoroki explained how he sees the world.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A translucent brain scan over a translucent heart in the center of a black background. Midoriya's head is fading in looking pensive at the top left and Todoroki also looking pensive on the bottom right.

Previous Chapters

Chapter 8: The Walk

Chapter 9: The Arcade

For chapters, 1-7 go to this easy to this navigate google doc

Midoriya POV

"Midoriya, I’m surprised that you're not blushing, but then again, by now you're probably used to people calling you cute.” I looked up in complete confusion as he said that allowing him to score his winning point.

Who was calling me cute and WAIT he said that I would be used to people calling me cute! does that mean that he thinks that I’m cute I hope it does what else could it mean? “Wait? What? Who? how? ” I staggered in confusion.

“Those girls playing that game behind me,” he gestured with his head towards a group of girls that looked about our age. “They're talking about how cute you are,” once again he’s saying crazy things those girls had to be at least three meters away from him and the music was loud how could he possibly know what they were saying while playing with me! I was very confused.

Todoroki POV

Midoriya looked confused when I pointed out the girls talking behind me. Could he just not hear them? If he just couldn't hear them why would he be surprised that I could? “I guess that I’m a closer so you just can't hear them,” I respond.

“But how can you hear them! The music’s loud and you were playing with me!” I didn’t understand his confusion. Isn’t everyone always aware of everything around them?

“Midoriya, I don’t understand why you're confused. They’re within earshot so I listened to their conversation,” this comment seemed to further his confusion, he also apaired to be shocked. I didn’t know how to respond.

“Why don’t we go outside so we can talk about this?” he asked.

“We passed an ice cream parlor a few blocks back,” I offered.

“Y...Yea, let's go there...” he muttered, still very confused.

The trip from the arcade to the ice cream shop was in silence. It wasn’t until we sat down with our frozen treats did we start talking. “So you always listen to what everyone’s saying all the time?” the smaller boy asked trying to understand.

“Doesn’t everyone?” I asked in response, “I don’t pay much attention to most of them.” I was confused at how this was confusing.

“N-No that’s actually kind of creepy...”

“It’s not like I can control it. I’m aware of everything that happens around me at all times,” there was a clear look of shock on Midoriya’s face. I was starting to get the feeling that this wasn't normal.

I paused trying to think of a way to explain it. “This is how I see the world,” I started, “I’m in a room facing a wall of TVs. There’s usually around twenty of them. the more comfortable I am the fewer screens there are. They all are playing different shows and I need to know at less the basic plot of all of them. With those, I can hear and see everything around me.”

“That’s a lot of things to pay attention to.” I shrugged for I didn't even finish.

“Along with those there are a few screens that are constantly changing channels. Those are the ones I need to pay the most attention to because something important might come on. We probably should eat our ice cream before it melts.” I resumed eating mine but Midroyia just stared at me in shock.

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.